I haven’t even used it and I’m impressed – GoPro Hero 5 Black

Okay, so the headline isn’t entirely correct. I did switch the GoPro5 Black on when I unboxed it to check it worked, fiddled with the touch sensitive screen, and took one photo. Oh, and I spoke to it.

gopro-hero5-black
GoPro Hero 5 Black

I was amazed to find UK availability (and stock) on the day after the new GoPro 5 Black was launched in the Uk last week. I normally buy direct from GoPro for all my kit and previous GoPro cameras. But this time I went to John Lewis online and they delivered next day – with an additional two year warranty.

So, I have a GoPro Hero 3 which I’ve had a form a couple of years. I have to admit, I’ve had about three of the Hero 3’s as the first two were faulty. There was a lot of noise on the video of the first two. In fairness, GoPro were prompt to replace them each time, although it did make me question the quality of the product at first.

But it was, and still is, a great camera. I’ve used it in diving, skiing, cycling and general video and camera scenarios.

The picture, video and audio quality are great. It is the battery life that let it down and somehow I acquired about five batteries (I think two came back when they replaced the first two GoPro Hero 3).

But I found I needed them as the average video time was a maximum of 20 minutes and this was great for he cycling videos.

And so now we have the GoPro Hero 5 (I skipped the 4). I had considered the GoPro Session but thought I’d wait for the more pro GoPro.

So it arrived on Monday and I actually waited for a few hours (I was busy with work) before I unboxed it.

I was surprised that it actually feels heavier than its predecessors and size-wise is very similar, if not slightly larger (that’s if you have the clip on touch screen I have on the GoPro Hero 3).

Initial thoughts are that it’s a much better piece of it. It’s more modern look combined with the fact that it is completely water tight to 33ft without the need for any housing is great. I will use it as an easy to grab camera or vlog camera for when I want something small and instead of the iPhone 6s (which I normally use as a quick fix in mobile scenarios with Rode microphones).

So, the touch screen is sensitive and accurate. It does jump about a bit at times and isn’t necessarily as accurate as your mobile phone screen. But then it is much smaller and your fingers can touch more than just one area of the screen.

The initial photo and video (4k UHD) is amazing. I also like the new Linear mode which isn’t fish-eye and is more cinematic. I suspect I’ll be using that setting a lot.

What’s even better, although I’ve yet to use it in an actual situation, is the voice command. Much like Apple’s Siri, you can now voice command the GoPro to take videos, photos, time lapses and much more. It’ll be interesting to see how that works when I’m on the bike or in a noisy situation or with a lot of wind noise.

Combined with the new GoPro iOS apps, such as Capture, I think I’m going to enjoy using the new device.

Also, the cage that holds the camera for mounting is very light wait and the mounts are all compatible with the existing ones. So there’s no need to replace all those expensive official GoPro mounts and holders.

So that’s my brief take out of the box of the GoPro Hero 5 Black. You can watch my very brief video to see it compared to the GoPro Hero 3 .

I’ll collate a new blog post and vlog this weekend once I’ve used it in a few scenarios.

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

