Too windy for UAV filming, so here’s the Rode Stereo VideoMic Pro initial test

I had wanted to take the UAV to the skies over the weekend to produce a quick Vlog on Youtube showing the local countryside and the flooding as a result of the constant, heavy rain in recent days.

Unfortunately, Storm Gertrude got in the way and it was too windy to let the Phantom rise.

Instead, I opted for a quick test of the Rode Stereo VideoMic Pro I purchased a few weeks ago but have been unable to use due to the fact I lost a screw and mounting plate off it before I used it.

Luckily, the Rode warranty covered it and the fact it was loose before I used it (okay, maybe I should have checked like a good technician) their UK warranty provider sent a replacement part which arrived on Saturday.

While I didn’t have a chance to take it out into the field for a test in a range of environments, I was able to film outside to show the different ambience picked up by the microphone on the Nikon D750 DSLR.

I have to say I was quite impressed. While I expected good quality audio from an overall ambience perspective (I bought it as a general mic when I’m shooting at events, etc), I was quite surprised and impressed at how it picked up the voice audio while I recorded a piece form Vlog.

Admittedly, you get wider ambience nice coming in – that’s the point of the mic – but it focussed well on the voice. I will, however, still use my boom and handheld microphone for interviews.

So all in all, a good 9/10 for the Rode Stereo VideoMic Pro, although I’ve yet to use it in a more professional environment. But I’ll post when I have.

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

